I'm starting to think that some people are made of recyclable material. These people keep recycling themselves through my life. I try and get rid of them (in an environmentally conscious manner), but they keep coming back. First it was "Creepy John". Now it is "Eugenio". I just received an email from him. (The email he promised me two weeks ago during our volatile conversation over instant messenger.) I hope you all enjoy it:
"Hey Jane, What's up, yo? Just wanted to send you the email that I promised. Sorry if I annoyed you the last time we spoke. That wasn't my intent. This email may annoy you too, but I don't care. Take it for what it's worth.
I should have played it cool with you, but you're so anti-mind games. I figured it was kosher for me to be honest with you. I normally get bored with girls and lose interest in them quickly. It was nice to actually have a crush on someone for once. I got ahead of myself. I am a romantic type of guy and I don't like to suppress feelings when it comes to girls. That being said, I don't really think anyone would categorize me as being an emotional or high-maintenance person. Maybe I over analyze or over think things, but then again you claim to do the same. So I thought maybe you would understand.
Anyway, I sure have learned my lesson in regards to dealing with intimacy or commitment phobes! For the record, I don't think you are a rude b*tch. When I said that I read between the lines, I meant that if you really were a mean person; I would have noticed it much earlier. I figure your reaction was just your defense mechanism for dealing with emotion. You try to drive people away and youre pretty effective at it. Even though I don't buy your fake animosity towards me, I still don't want to deal with it.
It's all cool though, I'm not mad or upset with you. I certainly don't harbor any hard feelings. It was fun while it lasted and reminded me that there are definitely girls out here who can still pique my interest. I still think you'e pretty rad and even though I'm not interested in dating, if you ever want to hang out, you know how to reach me.
We do have a good time when we're face-to-face, after all. The ball is in your court.
-Eugenio"
Wow Sigmund, you've really got me figured out (sarcastic tone). After those 4 dates and 2 kisses my defense mechanisms kicked in. I sensed that Eugenio was getting too close emotionally. He was starting to tap into the deep recesses of my soul and know the "real Jane". So naturally, my subconscious reacted and made me behave in a way that pushed him away. (He really hit the nail on the head!)
When I received the email, I quickly scanned through it (chuckled) and didn't pay much attention to it. I forwarded it to "Bridget" and "Austin HP" to let them have a crack at decoding the purpose of this correspondence. Their responses were almost identical. They both thought it was contrived, like he was censoring himself (which he should have done that last time we talked). They thought he was trying to push my bottons by calling me a committment phobic (although it's already a consensus among my friends that I am) in an attempt to get me to respond to him.
Austin HP was concerned (as he usually is) and emailed me, "Jane, this guy is warped. He honestly thinks that if he can just get you to spend a little more time with him, that he can win you over. Don't respond to this!" Bridget concurred and said, "I think he's playing hard to get. He thinks that you're the type of girl that likes a challenge and by telling you that he isn't interested. He's hoping reverse psychology will do it's magic and make you want him as much as he wants you." (Ick! Yes, I like a challenge just as much as the next gal, but the challenge with this situation, is how to get him to forget me.)
Well, I've spent enough time thinking, writing and talking about this already. "Dutch" is waiting for me to finish typing so we can walk to DQ. (MMmmmm... nothing get's my mind off of things better than ice cream. Dairy Queen here I come!)
I hear you Leenoka! I should have been clued off to his tendency to "flip out". On our second date we had a discussion about being friends with our ex's. He told me that he wasn't on speaking terms with any of them. (Whoa! That's not a good sign.) He couldn't believe that I'm on speaking terms with pretty much all of my ex's. I remember being a little disturbed by one of his descriptions of a run-in he had with his ex (a year after she broke up with him). He acted like an ass, just to make her feel bad. He thought he was getting the last laugh. That's weird... a year later... to still be like that!
ReplyDelete