Sunday, April 24, 2005

"Creepy John" and the date that went bad

True to his word, "John" called on Saturday and asked me out for dinner that night. I didn't have any plans and I said "sure"... First mistake of the night. He offered to pick me up at my place and I said "sure"... Second mistake of the night.

Things started off just fine. We went to a new cafe not far from his place. We ordered drinks and dinner. I wasn't paying a ton of attention to how much he was drinking, because we were having a good conversation. We had a lot to talk about and we got along well. I was much more impressed with him at this meeting than I was when I initially met him a few days earlier. He seemed like a really nice guy, so when he invited me to see his house (down the street), I didn't have any hesitations... Third mistake of the night.

We arrived at his place. It was nice. He offered me another drink, and we both had a beer (note: this was my second and last drink of the night... it was his 4th and definately not his last). John had an incredible collection of books at his house. We talked for hours about books that we've read, which authors we liked and which books we both wanted to read. We talked about our family backgrounds a little and then he started to ask the prying questions... questions about past boyfriends and relationships. Why did he have to go there.

I was up front and told him that I had actually just stopped seeing someone ("the 40 Year Old") earlier this week. He wanted to know details. So, I told him. This is when things started to get weird.

He kept offering to get me another drink. I told him no, but he poured me another anyway. I never touched it, but I did notice that he had a few more drinks. The more he drank the more he kept nagging me to sit down on the couch next to him. I finally sat down and he started getting cuddly with me, putting his arm around me and such. He kept talking about my past relationships and saying things like, "Oh, that must really have hurt you ". "Are you okay?" "Do you think it will be hard to get over him?"

I told him I would be just fine and it wasn't that big of a deal, as I tried to scoot away from him. But, he scooted closer.

He finally came right out and said (I swear these are his exact words), "come on just give me a kiss, just give me a kiss." Honestly, I didn't really know what I was hearing and I wasn't sure what happened next, but he put his hand on my chin, turned me face and started mauling my face with his lips. I couldn't keep up. I wasn't sure what was going on. But I knew one thing for sure... This guy was 39 years old an a terrible kisser!

I didn't want to hurt his feelings and I didn't know how to tell him I wasn't enjoying this at all, but he afforded me the perfect opportunity. He grabbed my leg and kept pulling it on top of his and pulling me closer to him. I pulled away and said, "I don't know if you heard what I said a few minutes ago, but I just stopped seeing someone on Monday. You're moving way too fast and I don't even know you!"

I tried to wrap up the night. Told him it was time for me to head back. I was mad at myself... why did I agree to let him pick me up. I broke my own rule. Always drive yourself to a first date... so you can leave at anytime!

He seemed like he was okay with me wanting to leave. He thanked me for a great evening told me he wanted to see me again. I told him "sure", even though I never plan on talking to him again. At that point I still had to be nice to him, because I needed a ride home.

Then the final straw came. He leaned in for a goodnight kiss and smothered me again. He grabbed my hand to hold it (which completely weirded me out, because handholding is reserved for serious relationships only). However, it was ridiculous for me to worry about the hand holding, because he quickly lost interest in my hand and went for my breast.

It was a direct attack! I grabbed his hand pulled it off and walked away. I told him, "I definately don't know you that well, I want to go home now!" He laughed and said, "well how else am I supposed to get to know you better?" It was at that point that I realized how much this guy had to drink.

I walked to the kitchen and grabbed my purse. Then he said, "Do you see all the liquor I pulled out for you? You're really hard to get drunk." What an idiot, who says that?

I walked out the front door and he drove me home. Worst date of my life? Maybe, but my life isn't over yet!

No comments:

Post a Comment