True to his word (again), "Creepy John" called. And, true to form... I let his call click over into voicemail. I've decided that the solution to this situation is "inaction". I'm going to ignore his calls and just hope he goes away. I know most of you reading are going to yell at me for avoiding confrontation, but I just want to forget that date ever happened.
I picked up the "40 Year Old" from the airport. After he jumped in the car and wrapped up his cell phone conversation. We immediately jumped into conversation. He was a little panicked and slightly distracted from the conversation... because I was driving, talking and listening to him all at the same time. Those are three activities that I have never been able to do simultaneously. (Actually, I can't even do any two of those activities simultaneously without being a hazzard on the roadways.) Once he calmed down and we figured out where we were going, he told me all about his job interview (which went extremely well) and we drove to a restaurant in town. It was great to see him and he seemed genuinely happy to see me. We had dinner, but I made our waitress split the bill. We caught up on the past week. It seemed like it had been much longer since we last saw each other. He kept prying about my weekend wanting to know what I had been up to. I finally told him I had a date... and a bad one at that. After I spilled the beans on "Creepy John", he told me it was my own fault, because I broke the "drive yourself rule".
Regardless, we started talking about the two of us dating. He held his non-committment stance and I held my exclusivity stance. We argued about what the definitions of each were. This conversation went on for a long time. We agreed that we both wanted to date each other, but neither of us were willing to budge on our terms. So after an intense conversation, we were at the same place as we where a week ago. We aren't dating, but we are going to try and be friends.
(My most vocal critics/friends have already made their opinions known on this issue... Hermosa Beach... hold your tongue and your blog comments. I already know what you're going to say! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment